Soul Serenade: Tony Clarke, “The Entertainer”

Tony Clarke - The EntertainerThis column is the very definition of a labor of love. I’ve been writing it every week for more than five years, and I don’t think I’ve ever missed a week. I wish there was a bigger audience for the column, but I’m happy to have the regular readers that I have. There is no budget. There is no time to set up interviews with the people who made the music I write about, and I don’t have access to all the material necessary to write really comprehensive stories about the records I feature.

What I’m left with, in the end, are whatever online resources I can find. Wikipedia is helpful, so is AllMusic.com. Then there are the more obscure music sites that a Google search might track down. Sometimes the searches turn up very little, and yet, that doesn’t seem like a very good reason to not tell you about a great record … (more)

Leave a Reply

