Cratedigger: Rickie Lee Jones, “Pirates” | Popdose

Rickie Lee Jones - Pirates

My latest Cratedigger column reflects on Rickie Lee Jones’ second, and in my opinion finest, album Pirates:

I have to admit that I was hesitant to make Rickie Lee Jones’ Pirates the subject of this week’s Cratedigger. The weather has been gloomy here in New Jersey all week, the Yankees dropped the first game of the World Series to Philadelphia, and my finances are in the sewer. Since Pirates is perhaps the most heartbreaking album I’ve ever encountered, I was afraid listening to it again would throw me into an even deeper funk. Despite the sorrow, when pressed, I will tell you that Pirates is one of the best albums ever made, and it is easily ensconced in my personal Top Five, where it has resided since its release in July, 1981.popdose.com, Cratedigger: Rickie Lee Jones, “Pirates” | Popdose, Oct 2009

You can read the whole article by clicking on the link above.

Leave a Reply

