Robert Altman

The great filmmaker Robert Altman has died in Los Angeles at the age of 81. Altman was known for such films as "M-A-S-H", "Nashville", "The Player", and "Short Cuts". He was nominated for five Academy Awards for Best Director, most recently for Gosford Park in 2001. He was given the Lifetime Achievement Award by the Academy earlier this year. In his acceptance speech he said:

""No other filmmaker has gotten a better shake than I have," Altman said
while accepting the award. "I’m very fortunate in my career. I’ve never
had to direct a film I didn’t choose or develop. My love for filmmaking
has given me an entree to the world and to the human condition."

Leave a Reply

